Encouragement For Everyone

Have you forgotten?

Phototastic-3_23_2016_bed086a5-3a18-42be-a393-0007010ed4eb(1)

Meanwhile, the disciples were finding fault with each other because the had forgotten to bring bread.” Mark 8:16 (MSG)

Remember the five loaves I broke for the five thousand? How many baskets of leftovers did you pick up? They said, ‘twelve’.” Mark 8:19 (MSG)

Sometimes, in the face of challenges, we fuss, we panic, get so worried and stressed out forgetting times in the past when God showed up for us, times when we have experienced His faithfulness even when we were faithless.

Instead of resting in the assurance of God’s mercies and faithfulness, we keep trying to figure it out, robbing ourselves of peace and joy in the process.

Isn’t it interesting  to know that the disciples fussed over bread? They had just seen Jesus feed four thousand people with seven loaves of bread and few fishes, yet when they realized they had just one loaf of bread and had forgotten to take more for their journey, they were disturbed and even began to blame each other.

“Aware of their discussion, Jesus was like, why are you talking about not having bread? Don’t you guys understand, don’t you remember? Were you not there when I used five loaves of bread and two fishes to feed five thousand? How many baskets of leftovers did we have? They said twelve.
What about when I fed four thousand people with seven loaves of bread, how much did we have left?  They said seven baskets.

So why is having one loaf an issue or have you forgotten?”
Mark 8: 17-21 (Paraphrased)

I can totally relate to this story. Amongst the other lessons there, this one struck a chord, perhaps because I’m at a place where I’m not even sure if I have a loaf at all and I’ve been in and out of fussing and trusting, mostly fussing.

As I read and thought about it, to me He was saying, you think I can’t do it again if the need arises, even if you have just one loaf? Don’t you trust me? Can’t you see that you are not alone? Have you forgotten that I’m your present help in time of need? With all I’ve done and I do for you, why do you still worry? Haven’t I said to cast your cares on me and let me give you rest? Don’t you know how much I love you?

Usually, when I’m faced with a challenge, I break into a whole new level of worrying and stressing even if its a ‘familiar challenge’ but I’m learning to remind myself of God’s goodness and just trust Him, instead of worrying. (The struggle)

Overtime, you learn that worrying changes nothing but trusting God changes everything.

I was listening to Joyce Meyer one time and she said something about taking notes (keeping a journal) of times when God shows up for us and going over it from time to time to remind us of God’s goodness and to strengthen our faith when we face challenges.

I think its worth practicing, to help us remember that He has come through before, He can and He will come through again.

Can you think of one time when God showed up for you, met your needs, gave you peace over that matter, favored you in an unfavorable condition, gave you an idea, made a way, supplied your need through a brother, sister or friend, gave you strength to go through, healed you, delivered you, comforted you, restored you, helped you… blessed you?
Can you think of two? Three? Four?

So, are you going to relax about that matter troubling you and trust God, knowing that He is the same yesterday, today and forever, He’s your redeemer and He Lives?

Yes, He lives.

Guess this is the point where I say, Happy Easter!

 

2 thoughts on “Have you forgotten?

Leave a Reply

