Encouragement For Singles

Broken for my good.

Recently, it dawned on me that I’ve been a christian for a little over ten years now and not until I  recently experienced a heartbreak, did the reality of  God’s love for me, hit me.

I’ve learnt and I love how God can meet us where we are as long as we are willing to let Him.
Talk about every pain has a purpose, God can turn your mess into a message, that significant heartbreak  has been a channel through which I’ve learned quite a lot within a year and still learning about God, love and life.
About the abundance of God’s love, man’s inadequacy without God, trusting God, walking with God, the seriousness of sin, its consequences, grace, mercy, letting go, moving on, God’s peace…

I was in a relationship that eventually ended because of my immaturity.
Yes. I messed up, I was all up in my own way, always about me, with my attitude, all my control issues and what not.
I learnt my lesson in a hard, painful way.

Once, I heard someone say “you either learn by wisdom or you learn by experience.” I agree.
My experience was quite painful (I believe I will share the story but that will be another topic entirely for another day), but I’m so thankful today for that heartbreak.
I thank God it happened, because it started the process of saving me from myself. Some relationship counsellors will say, thank God for the heartbreak because you don’t know what God is saving you from, in terms of your choice of partner or in future terms, well, I don’t know about all that yet, thankful nonetheless but what I can boldly testify to now is that this one was for my good, to save me from wrecking myself with all I had going on and all I was involved in.

Today, I look back and I can say like the psalmist said in Psalms 119:71 “It was good for me to be afflicted so that I might learn your decrees.” (NIV)

God was indeed looking out for me, He loves us too much to leave us to wreck ourselves. Even when you go right out and create a mess for yourself, He’ll still come and get you, clean you up and give you a testimony. Awesome God.
The painful end of that relationship was the beginning of a whole new level of walking with God.
Thankfully, God is always there, even when we stray sheepishly, He guides us lovingly, back to Him as our Shepherd and its oh, so worth it. God is interested in the condition of our souls. In my case, it took a heartbreak to get me back on track. I dare say, thank God for heartbreaks. (But Dear Lord, I think I’ve learnt my lesson. No more please. Thank you sir.) lol…

If you follow me on social media, you may have noticed that I tend to talk a lot about relationships, singleness and the likes these days, well, that’s because I’ve learnt and still learning from the mistakes I made in that area  and I just love to share. I’m not perfect, I still make mistakes but I’ve learned to accept and own my mistakes, learn the lesson(s) and move on, keep getting better.
When it happened, I felt worthless to say the least but learning about God’s love  for me and He’s word has renewed my mind.
My mistake is not my identity, its not who I am. I am who and what God says I am.

You should believe same. Don’t let your mistakes hold you down, learn the lessons, then go on and do better.
The struggle is real but God’s got us.
Don’t give up on God, He’ll never give up on you.
God loves you. He cares.
God bless you.❤
You can follow me on instagram and twitter, @sheriehabeeb and search for me on facebook with my name, Sherie Habeeb. Thank you.
To be continued…

Leave a Reply

